Board of Directors and Members


The house was privately owned until 1974 when it was designated on the National Register of Historic Places and as a National Historic Landmark. The residence was made into a museum by the Minnesota Association of Co-Operatives and given to the city of Granite Falls in 1979.

The Andrew J. Volstead House Museum is managed by the Granite Falls Historical Society, a volunteer based nonprofit dedicated to preserving the history of Granite Falls. The City of Granite Falls owns the historic structure.

2021 Board of Directors Granite Falls Historical Society 

Our annual meeting was held on July 8, 2021 at 6 PM at the Volstead House Museum. 

President – Terri Dinesen (term 2019-2022) 

Vice President – open

Secretary – open  

Treasurer and acting secretary  – Mary Gillespie (term 2019-2022)

Director – Melanie Gatchell (term 2018-2021) up for re-election 

Director – Doug Bengston (term 2019-2022)

Director – Scott Tedrick (term 2020-2023)

Director – Jess Gorman (term 2020-2023)

Director – Andrea Cafourek (term 2021-2024)

Director – Paul Fisher (term 2021-2024)

Director- Ronnette Kennedy Trulson (term 2021-2024)

2020 and 2021 Members of the Granite Falls Historical Society

Thank you for your support!

Gold Members

Ron and Diane Fagen

Granite Falls Bank

Granite Falls Kiwanis – supporter of the reindeer event

Curt and Jeannette Olson Foundation

Business Members

Family Memberships

  • Richard and Sharon Anderson
  • Les and Sue Berquist
  • Merlin and Sylvia Buchholz
  • Pat and Butch Buschette
  • Bill and Terri Dinesen
  • Mary Gillespie and Mohammed Al-Otaibi
  • Greg and Lynn Holmstrom
  • Phil and Mary Kelly
  • C.T and J. B. Lundell
  • Leroy and Jan Peterson
  • Gene and Helen Stukel
  • Dave and Cindy Smiglewski
  • Todd and Nancy Trudel

Individual Members

  • Dick Connor
  • Verona Dalin
  • Gene Flaten
  • Avis Freitag
  • Rachel Hagen
  • Carol Heen
  • Virginia Homme
  • Rosalyn Koning
  • Pat Kubly
  • Dorothy Ims
  • Marsha Johnson
  • Diane Ladner
  • Ruby Hieb
  • Margot Richter
  • Vonnie Saquilan
  • Chris Swedzinski
  • Beverly Tellefsen
  • Tom Thorkelson
  • Linda Virnig